It is Eerily Quiet here right now. Should I be afraid?

Posted On July 30, 2013

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped leave a response


My oldest 2 are off visiting with their grandma who they have not seen in quite a while, and who is in town for just a couple of days.  And I believe the Ninja Turtle is asleep.

I am sitting here reflecting tonight.  Little Man turns 10 on Thursday.  Ahh, yes, the double digits.  Does that officially make him a pre-teen?  Am I officially headed toward puberty rearing it’s ugly head and my sense of peace and calm washing away as the deluge strikes?  Who knows.

The facts as I know them are simple:

  • I have cherished every moment with each one of my children, regardless of any challenges or difficulties.
  • There are sure to be more bumps in the road as we go along.
  • Nothing is perfect, and I have learned to accept that.
  • I love these three little human beings with ever fiber of my being and would do anything within my power to make sure they are happy and healthy and cared for.
  • This journey is just beginning.

Each one of my precious children has had their own set of ,,, challenges within their personality traits and within the young man and young women that they will grow up to be.  Ninja Turtle will continue to struggle as she gets older, and there is nothing I can do to change that.  It is who she is and who God has designed her to be.  But I know beyond a doubt that God gave me these children for a reason, because I was the one designed to be there for them.  That is what I plan to do, each and every day, for as long as I am breathing air.

It has not always been easy.  Nothing worth having ever is.

My older two children have to deal with having mom and dad in separate places and having two homes.  I hope that as they grow, we do our best to enforce to them that this just means there are more people to love them, that they are lucky enough to have not only a mom and a dad, but also a stepmother and a stepfather that love them very much and will always be there for them.

For Ninja Turtle, I try to just cherish every moment, because things with her change suddenly and without warning and there is no telling where the next curve in the road will take us, but it is a journey more than a challenge.  We are all learning as we go and I don’t think we will ever really arrive.  I think the journey will just continue to evolve.

 

And on that contemplative note, I am going to go curl up in my recliner with my coffee and a book, and watch some sappy old TV shows with my wonderful husband.  These are the moments we need to cherish, because they do not come often enough, where we have a few moments just for the two of us.  I hope you all have a wonderful evening, and will see you again soon.  

Leave a Reply

