I Am The Proud Mommy of a New Puppy.

Posted On April 7, 2012

Filed under Uncategorized
Tags:

Comments Dropped 2 responses


Image

 

 

This is Jiggles.  He is my brand new, 9-week-old Schnauzer/poodle pup.  I made the journey to get him and bring him to our home today, and he is just such a joy to have in my life.  I am already totally and completely wrapped up in this little guys little paws, and there is no way I will be letting him go.  

As some of you may or may not know, due to circumstances beyond my control, we had to give up our home in January.  We were lucky enough to have some friends to stay with for the first 3 weeks, and then my dad made the offer for us to come and stay with him, and so that is where we are now.  It has been an adjustment, and at times it is stressful as there are 7 of us here in a two bedroom house, and I feel as though we are really imposing on their kindness and keeping them from enjoying their own home, so I have had some emotional…ups and downs as a result.  

When we lost our home, our border collie was ill, and we had to have him put down.  I have felt empty and like a piece of me was missing since we lost Tazz, and I knew then that I would have to get another dog eventually, once we had our own space and could make sure that it had what it needed.  But, when the ad went up on Craigslist yesterday, and I saw this guy, I just could not resist.  It was like God, or Fate, or whatever you choose to call it, intervened, and knew that I needed this little guy in my life right now.  

You see, I have been having some health issues, and my stress levels have been in uncharted territory, and my doc has been a little concerned.  Well, I think the pup has acted as living Valium, because I have not felt stressed out today at all like I had been.

We were a little concerned before we went to get him, because my dad has a cocker/poodle that is 3 and quite protective.  He also has 4 cats, and we did not know how the animals would get along.  I was more concerned about the dog than the cats, though.  Well, when we got home with Jiggles, dad’s dog sniffed his butt for a while and followed him around.  Then, after a little while, he did the unexpected! 

You see, Dad’s dog keeps his toys in dad and my stepmom’s room, and only brings them out when he wants to play.  Well, after he got used to the puppy, dad’s dog, Buttons, brought out his two favorite toys and has left them out here all day for the puppy.  they have gone to bed, and the toys are still here, so the puppy is apparently free to play with them.  That is acceptance, for sure.  

I was then concerned with housebreaking, as I have not had a puppy in a very long time.  But, to be honest, it really has not been so bad.  He had a little bit of piddling when he first got here, but he has gone outside several times, and he went most of the time.  He did have one accident, but it was by the front door, and he doesn’t really bark yet, so he couldn’t tell us he needed to go, and he went and told my husband right away that there was a mess!  Then, a little while later, he was sitting on the couch next to me, and he started to cry..so I picked him up, brought him outside, and he pooped outside for the first time!  I am so proud and made sure to give him lots of praise, and so far so good.  

I am probably going to be one of those gushy, new pet owners for a while now, posting pictures and blogging about the puppy adventures.  He seems to be catching onto the routine of things fairly quickly, and is responding to his name already, after less than a full day.  

Well, folks, I need to go back to work, as break time is over, but I will be talking with you all again soon.  Have a wonderful night/morning, and I will see you again soon!

2 Responses to “I Am The Proud Mommy of a New Puppy.”

  1. BermudaOnion

    Aw, I hope you love each other for years to come!

    • Lisa LaVergne-Pottgen

      He is driving me absolutely crazy with the chewing, but I think he will want nothing to do with me for a while after tomorrow after I give him his shot!

Leave a Reply

