Reflecting on Life in General.


Yes, I am a mom.  But that is not all I am.  There are some people who think being a mother is the easiest gig in the world.  I also work at home.  There are even more people who think that is a gravy train type of life.  There is so much more to it than that, and I wish people could see.

I am a mom to three wonderful children.  They are 7, 5, and 6 months old.  My oldest has had a rough few years.  He has had to deal with some issues around him that no child should ever have to deal with.  He had to deal with divorce, moving around a lot, three little sisters and being the only boy, and his dad having a work schedule that makes it hard for him to spend time with him, no matter how much he may want to do nothing more.

He also has shown signs of ADHD and some sensory issues from an early age.  Sometimes his behavior is not ideal.  Sometimes going grocery shopping with him is a trial in patience more than anything else.  But I am equipped to deal with these things, better than some people maybe who don’t have to deal with these things.

I fully believe that the powers that be gave me this boy because I was equipped to manage his differences, when maybe another parent would not have been.

He is also highly intelligent, and sometimes that trait can be his worst enemy. He is so much like his mother in that if he knows he is right about something, he will not give up until everyone else recognizes that fact.  This is a trait that I have been trying to work on a lot lately, as I need to be a better example for him.

My middle child, my oldest girl, just turned 5.  I can’t believe it.  It is surreal and I have no idea where all of the time has gone.  Life got in the way on this one, and I have not done all that I should have for her over the years, and I am trying to make up for that now.  Let me tell you, folks, you absolutely cannot turn back the hands of time, and there is no such thing as “making up for lost time,” because time just keeps going.  If you worry too much about trying to make up for what has been lost, you forget to enjoy the present.

This little girl is so full of life, and has thrived in spite of her mother, I think, some days.  She starts kindergarten in the fall, and everyone who talks to her MUST know this fact!  She has the little diva/princess attitude that all little girls get when there are a lot of people who love them.  But, I am sure she will be just fine.

My littlest, well, she is a handful.  She gave us all a heck of a scare at about 3 months old with a crying fit that landed us in the ER, and resulted in an episode that they never clearly delineated as apnea or seizure, or what have you, and said episode earned us a week at a specialized children’s hospital where we met some of the kindest, gentlest doctors and nurses one could want to have involved in the care of your child.

Now, three months later, we still have the staring off episodes that make everyone think that she is still having these “seizure” episodes, but no one has been able to clearly delineate what they are.  She had a run of eye problems, and some signs that pointed to increased pressure in her eyes and the fear that glaucoma might be present.  Well, so far so good on that front.  She goes back the end of this month for a dilated eye exam, and then hopefully we will get a break from some of the doctors for a little while, as right now we spend more time at doctor’s offices then anything else, and it is a very tiring prospect.

She is 6-1/2 months old now, and still has a little trouble sitting up without a little help, and hasn’t crawled or said anything that actually resembles a word yet, but I am convinced she is where she needs to be.

On the working at home thing, I am a medical transcriptionist, and this is a career I have enjoyed for ten years.  Wow, has it been that long?  While I do work at home, I do not get to just sit and do what I want when I want to.  I punch a time clock, and have deadlines to meet and goals to achieve in order to keep up my obligations to my employer and keep my family’s finances where they need to be.  My life is not a cakewalk, but it is the life I have chosen and I love living it.

In a nutshell, I juggle children, a career, a marriage, cub scouts, and anything else that may come up and manage to do so with grace and dignity as often as I can.  Sometimes I may say or do things that others will not approve of, but this is who I am and how I am living my life today.

So my message to anyone who feels the need to judge anyone and how they live their life, please take a look at your own side of the fence, and make sure all is right before you cast a stone out on anyone else.  You do not know anything about their lives until you have walked a mile in their shoes.

Leave a Reply

